Hockey Nova Scotia
Hockey Nova Scotia on Facebook Hockey Nova Scotia on twitter Hockey Nova Scotia on YouTube

Welcome to the home of Hockey Nova Scotia!
Dec. 5, 2017

OTTAWA – A pair of Nova Scotia hockey teams are Ottawa-bound this month.

The Ottawa International Hockey Festival, known as the Bell Capital Cup, announced on Monday the 32 winning teams from the Canada 150 Rink “Hockey on the Hill” contest. Thirty-two boys and girls teams representing all provinces and territories across Canada have won a trip to Ottawa to participate in the Bell Capital Cup and play at least one game on the Canada 150 Rink, located on Parliament Hill.

The CDMHA Digby Peewee C team and the Western Riptide (Green) have been selected as the winning teams from Nova Scotia.
The contest, presented by the Department of Canadian Heritage and the OIHF, and in partnership with the Ottawa Senators Hockey Club and supported by Hockey Canada, allows the 32 peewee boys’ house league and peewee girls’ house league teams composed of 11- and 12-year-olds to represent their province, territory or region in the Festival’s Canada 150 division.
More than 300 entries, representing more than 6,000 minor hockey players and team officials, were judged based on creativity, energy level and Canadian spirit. 
The 32 winning teams are:
Alberta Boys - Calgary Saints Peewee 4
Alberta Girls - Lakeland Jaguars
British Columbia Boys - Saanich Braves Peewee C3
British Columbia Girls - Kelowna Devils
Manitoba Boys - Red River Wild
Manitoba Girls - Winnipeg East Stars Peewee A2 Purple
New Brunswick Boys - Lancaster Peewee C Bombers
New Brunswick Girls - Miramichi Peewee Panthers
Newfoundland Boys - Avalon Celtics Peewee Malibus
Newfoundland Girls - Grand Falls-Windsor Cataracts
Northern Ontario Boys - North Bay Trappers,
Northern Ontario Girls - Timmins Pro Pipe Wildcats
Northwest Territories Boys - Yellowknife Overlander Outlaws
Northwest Territories Girls - Female Team NWT
Nova Scotia Boys - CDMHA Digby Peewee
Nova Scotia Girls - Western Riptide (Green)
Nunavut Boys -Iqaluit Blizzard Peewee Boys
Nunavut Girls - Iqaluit Blizzard Peewee Girls
P.E.I. Boys - Pownal Pride
P.E.I. Girls - North River Girls Peewee Flames
Saskatchewan Boys - Regina Peewee Blues
Saskatchewan Girls - Saskatoon Comet Storm
Yukon Boys - PNW
Yukon Girls - Yukon North Stars
Southern Ontario Boys - BLOMHA Peewee Canucks
Southern Ontario Girls - Saugeen Shores
Quebec Boys - Les Macareux de Havre-Saint Pierre
Quebec Girls - Rafales De La Mauricie
Ottawa Boys - Leitrim Hawks Peewee B2
Ottawa Girls - Goulbourn Rockets
Outaouais Boys - Barons de Gatineau
Outaouais Girls - Dynamites de Gatineau
Winning teams from outside the province or region will receive a bursary to offset the cost of travel to Ottawa for each player and coach, a set of commemorative Canada 150/OIHF jerseys for their team in which to compete (featuring their provincial flag on the jersey), accommodations, complimentary entry into the Bell Capital Cup and local bus service for their time in Ottawa (five days/four nights), if required. Winning teams representing Southern Ontario, Northern Ontario and Quebec will receive charter bus service from their respective communities.
About the Ottawa International Hockey Festival
The Ottawa International Hockey Festival (OIHF), known as the Bell Capital Cup, is a not-for-profit corporation established to showcase and promote tourism within the capital region and also to promote sportsmanship, fair play and team work along with helping to develop local minor hockey teams and players by providing a world class, local hockey tournament and festival.
Each year since 2000, the Festival has welcomed minor hockey teams to the nation’s capital from across Canada and around the world to compete in the world’s premier atom (9- and 10-year-olds) and peewee (11- and 12-year-olds) minor hockey festival during the holiday season.
Since its inception, the OIHF has donated more than $2 million to minor hockey associations and charitable organizations in the capital region, helping to make hockey more accessible for families in Ottawa-Gatineau.
Starting with 94 local teams in 2000, the OIHF established a new world record for the largest international hockey tournament in 2007 with 510 teams (8,145 players). The 2016 Festival had more than 400 teams representing 4,000-plus participants and more than 15,000 spectators and visitors.

Powered By GOALLINE Sports Administration Software