Hockey Nova Scotia
Hockey Nova Scotia on Facebook Hockey Nova Scotia on twitter Hockey Nova Scotia on YouTube

Welcome to the home of Hockey Nova Scotia!
May. 7, 2017

DARTMOUTH – More than two dozen deserving players, coaches, officials and volunteers were honoured at the 2017 Hockey Nova Scotia Annual Awards Banquet on Saturday evening.

Represenatives from across the province attended Hockey Nova Scotia's 43rd Annual Awards Banquet at the Best Western Plus in Dartmouth. The event was part of the 2017 Hockey Nova Scotia Annual General Meeting that was held this weekend.

Hockey Nova Scotia was honoured to have so many members of the Nova Scotia hockey community in attendance. These guests included national women's team member Jill Saulnier (who presented the RBC-Hockey Nova Scotia Academic-Athletic Award) as well as the TELUS Cup-winning Cape Breton West Islanders who brought the trophy to the banquet (and also brought home our Fred Fox Award as the Hockey Nova Scotia male team of the year).
(PHOTO: The Cape Breton West Islanders didn't pack light.)

Big congratulations go out to all of the winners!

Below is a complete list of our 2017 award winners:

Jim Stirling Award (Donated by BFL Canada Risk & Insurance Inc.)

Presenter: Dan McMullen (Female Council South Conference Coordinator)
Winner: Maria Morefield (Pro Cresting Penguins, NSFMHL)

RBC-Hockey Nova Scotia Academic-Athletic Award

Presenter: Jill Saulnier (RBC Olympian and Canadian national women’s team member)
Winner: Nathan Livingston (Glace Bay Miners, Nova Scotia Midget X Winter Hockey League)

President’s Award

Presenter: Garth Isenor (Hockey Nova Scotia President)
Winner: Mike Beamish (Chebucto MHA)

Ken Mantin Award 

Presenter: Terry Moore (Chair of Development Council)
Winner: Clary Melanson (Weeks Major Midgets)

Clary MacDonald Award 

Presenter: Steve Coates (Chair of Elite Hockey)

Winner: Kyle "Duke" MacDonald (Cape Breton West Islanders)

HNS Ron Conrad Award (Female Team of the Year) 

Presenter: Heather Murphy (Hockey Nova Scotia Board)

Winner: Colchester Cyclones (Bantam A)

Fred Fox Award (Male Team of the Year)

Presenter: Mike Trenholm (Hockey Nova Scotia Minor Council) and Arnie Farrell (Hockey Nova Scotia Vice-President)

Winner: Cape Breton West Islanders (NSMMHL)

HNS Hal Lewis Award (Lifetime Achievement in Officiating)

Presenter: Corey Hayne

Winner: Brian MacDonald (Antigonish Minor Hockey Association)

HNS Jed Ricey Award (Volunteer of the Year)

Presenter: Dave Ritcey (son of former Hockey Nova Scotia President Jed Ritcey)

Winner: Dave Verge (Nova Scotia Special Needs Hockey Club)

HNS Officiating Distinction (Female)

Presenter: Lloyd Smith

Winner: Dianne Ikeda

Development Association of the Year

Presenter: Marc Blinn (Hockey Nova Scotia Minor Council)

Winner: Acadia Minor Hockey Association (President Geoff Churchill accepted the award on behalf of Acadia.)

Development Coordinator of the Year

Presenter: Fred Howard (Hockey Nova Scotia Minor Council)

Winner: John MacPhee (Northside & District Minor Hockey Association)

House League/Rec Coach of the Year

Presenter: Brian Wentzell (Hockey Nova Scotia Minor Council)
Winner: Darryl Pierrynowski (Bedford Bantam C Oilers)

HNS Jacques Comeau Award (Rep Coach of the Year)

Presenter: Ben Comeau (son of the late Jacques Comeau)

Winner: Bryan Smith (Fundy-Highland Peewee AA Selects)

HC/HNS Most Promising Official

Presenter: Avard Fahey

Winner: Dante Coulter

HC/HNS Most Improved Official

Presenter: Rick Hill

Winner: Travis Parrell

HC/HNS Most Deserving Official 

Presenter: Michael MacDonald, Hockey Nova Scotia Referee-in-Chief
Winner: Craig Sloan

Lauchie MacIsaac Award

Presenter: Allan Matheson 
(Hockey Nova Scotia Minor Council)
Winner: Todd Watson, Jeff Hazleton, Mike Reynolds and Philip O'Neil (Nova Scotia Midget X Winter Hockey League)

Registrar’s Award 

Presenter: Mitch MacGregor 
(Hockey Nova Scotia Minor Council)
Winner: Carla King, Pictou County Minor Hockey Association

HNSMC Award of Merit

Presenter: Brad MacKinley 
(Hockey Nova Scotia Minor Council Chair)
Winner: Fred Howard (Cape Breton Regional Director, Hockey Nova Scotia Minor Council)

Outhie Moriarity Award 

Presenter: Scott Kennedy 
(Hockey Nova Scotia Board)
Winner: Ethan McCarthy (TASA Midget C Ducks)

Denny Deveau Award

Presenter: Stephen Murray (Hockey Nova Scotia Female Council Chair)

Winner: Sueann Musick (Fundy-Highland Zone)

HNSFC Award of Merit

Presenter: Tim Clayton (Hockey Nova Scotia Female Council)

Winner: JoAnn Kini (Western Zone)

Hockey Nova Scotia Award of Merit

Presenter: Darren Cossar (Hockey Nova Scotia Executive Director) and Bill Short (Hockey Nova Scotia Development Coordinator)

Winner: Tom Myketyn


Departing Board Member: Randy Morgan

Departing Board Member: Todd Robinson

Powered By GOALLINE Sports Administration Software