Hockey Nova Scotia
Hockey Nova Scotia on Facebook Hockey Nova Scotia on twitter Hockey Nova Scotia on YouTube
Loading

Welcome to the home of Hockey Nova Scotia!
 
PETTET NAMED TO NATIONAL WOMEN'S U18 TEAM
Dec. 6, 2016

CALGARY, Alta. – Twenty-three players will look to bring home gold for Canada’s National Women’s Under-18 Team at the upcoming 2017 IIHF U18 Women’s World Championship, taking place Jan. 7-15 in Prerov and Zlin, Czech Republic.

Kentville’s Brette Pettet is among the 23 players who will don the maple leaf in the Czech Republic in 2017. Pettet recently represented Team Atlantic at the 2016 National Women's Under-18 Championship in Regina, SK where she posted two goals and two assists in four games.


Canada’s roster includes three goaltenders, seven defencemen and 13 forwards and was selected by Melody Davidson, Hockey Canada’s general manager of national women’s team programs, alongside the team’s coaching staff with support from Hockey Canada regional scouts.

Pettet will recognize a familiar face behind the Team Canada. The women's team will be coached by Spryfield's Troy Ryan who led the Nova Scotia Canada Games female team that Petted played on in 2015.


“We are excited about the group of players we have selected and are confident that they all possess the qualities we were looking for in a gold-medal team,” said Troy Ryan, head coach, Canada’s National Women’s Under-18 Team. “This has been a long evaluation process and these 23 players have worked hard at our camps, with their clubs teams and at nationals and will be ready to hit the ice in Czech Republic in the Team Canada jersey.”

Canada opens up the 2017 IIHF U18 Women’s World Championship against Sweden on Saturday, Jan. 7 at 1:30 p.m. ET/10:30 a.m. PT, and will also take on Russia on Jan. 8 at 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT before facing the United States on Tuesday, Jan. 10 at 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT. The bronze-medal and gold-medal games are scheduled for Saturday, Jan. 14 at 10 a.m. ET/7 a.m. PT and 1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT.

After taking home a silver medal in 2016 in St. Catharines, Ont., the Canadians will be in search of their fifth gold medal in tournament history, having won in 2010, 2012, 2013, and 2014.


Hockey Nova Scotia would like to congratulate Brette on being named to Team Canada and wish her all the best at the 2017 IIHF U18 Women's World Championship next month!




 
Powered By GOALLINE Sports Administration Software