Hockey Nova Scotia
Hockey Nova Scotia on Facebook Hockey Nova Scotia on twitter Hockey Nova Scotia on YouTube

Welcome to the home of Hockey Nova Scotia!
Jun. 2, 2015


There are some changes on the way to Female Hockey in Nova Scotia that will help make the administration and governance of the game more efficient.

Beginning on June 15, all female hockey players who plan to play Female Hockey (Female Atom, Female Peewee, Female Bantam and Female Midget) during the 2015-16 season will be required to sign up with Hockey Nova Scotia in our new Central Registry.

Please note that signing up with the Central Registry is completely free. There is no charge. The registration period to get signed up with the Central Registry will run from June 15 – June 30, 2015.

NOTE: All players need to sign up. If female players choose to play minor hockey instead, they will be able to opt out of the registry.

To view a slideshow presentation that was presented by Female Council Chair Stephen Murray at the 2015 Hockey NS AGM, please click here.

The reason for this change is simple: it will allow Hockey Nova Scotia to ensure that female players are being given the opportunity to play at the level where they want to be playing at.

Here is how it works:  Female players will sign up online with one of six geographical zones based on where they live. These zones are made of the regions represented by our current minor hockey association (MHA) borders. Registration is done online through the Hockey Canada Online Registration System. Links to sign up will be made available on the Hockey Nova Scotia website before June 15.

For example, if your child played with the New Waterford MHA during the 2014-15 season, you will sign her up with the FEMALE CAPE BRETON ZONE. If she played hockey with the South Shore MHA this past season, you will sign her up with the FEMALE WESTERN ZONE.

Below is a list of the six new zones and the MHAs which make them up. (Please note that players from the Cape Breton West MHA will have the option of signing up with either FEMALE CAPE BRETON or FEMALE FUNDY/HIGHLAND and players from the Clare-Digby MHA will have the option of signing up with either FEMALE WESTERN or FEMALE NOVA.)

FEMALE CAPE BRETON (includes Glace Bay MHA, Strait Richmond MHA, Northside and District MHA, New Waterford MHA, Sydney MHA, Cape Breton County MHA, Cape Breton West MHA)

FEMALE FUNDY/HIGHLAND (includes Antigonish MHA, Truro MHA, Pictou County MHA, Canso MHA, Tatamagouche MHA, Cumberland County MHA, South Colchester MHA, West Colchester MHA, Parrsboro MHA, Cape Breton West MHA)

FEMALE DARTMOUTH (includes Dartmouth MHA, Eastern Shore MHA, East Hants MHA, Cole Harbour MHA)

FEMALE HALIFAX (includes Halifax Hawks MHA, Sackville MHA, Chebucto MHA, TASA MHA, Bedford MHA)

FEMALE NOVA (includes Clare-Digby MHA, Western Valley MHA, West Hants MHA, Acadia MHA)

FEMALE WESTERN (includes South Shore MHA, Chester MHA, Shelburne MHA, Yarmouth MHA, Clare-Digby MHA, Queens MHA)

By entering our Central Registry early, you will help ensure that Hockey Nova Scotia is able to pass your information along to our new Female Hockey Committees. These committees will act as representatives and administrators of Female Hockey in each of the six new geographical zones.

The committees will create teams based on the geographic location of the players and the player’s preference when it comes to level of play. These committees will then place the teams back with the Minor Hockey Associations that make up the new Female Hockey Zones. Players will then pay their registration fee to the Minor Hockey Association that they will play out of.

More instructions on how to sign up will be available on the Hockey Nova Scotia website in the coming days.

Powered By GOALLINE Sports Administration Software