Hockey Nova Scotia
Hockey Nova Scotia on Facebook Hockey Nova Scotia on twitter Hockey Nova Scotia on YouTube

Welcome to the home of Hockey Nova Scotia!
May. 25, 2015

DARTMOUTH, N.S. – Hockey Nova Scotia wrapped up the 2014-15 season over the weekend at our 2015 Annual General Meeting.

This year’s meeting took place from Friday, May 22 to Sunday, May 24 at the Best Western Plus in Dartmouth.

At this year’s meeting, Hockey Nova Scotia President Garth Isenor was elected to a two-year term. Minor Council Chair Brad MacKinley was also elected to a two-year term.

Some changes are coming to Hockey Nova Scotia’s female hockey system. Over the weekend, changes were approved to the female administration process that will make the female game more efficient. Details on this new process will be rolled out later this week.

As well, two dozen awards were handed out to players, coaches, officials and other supporters of our game at our Annual Awards Banquet on Saturday, May 23.

Long-time Hockey Nova Scotia High Performance Program coach Tom Lee was the guest speaker at the event and delivered a powerful speech detailing his battle with lymphoma and his thoughts on today’s game.

Among the winners at Saturday’s event was Sackville Flyers Midget B coach Kevin Sears. Sears was awarded with the Hockey Nova Minor Council Award of Merit. This past season, Sears dealt with a tragedy no parent should ever have to go through: the loss of his son Rylee, a player on his Sackville Flyers team. Throughout this difficult time, Sears remained with his team and was at the rink with them at their first practice less than a week after his own personal tragedy. Sears remained with the team throughout the year, right up until their last tournament of the season and continues to be an inspiration to his players and his association.

The Chester Flurries were also recognized at Saturday’s event. The Female Peewee A from the Chester Minor Hockey Association (the first ever all-girls teams from the association) received the Ron Conrad Award as Female Team of the Year. The team captured no banners, were outscored 169-4 during the season, and they won just one game but they embodied what a true team is all about. They supported one another, they never quit no matter what the score was and they respected their opponents. They played for the love of the game. They also inspired other young girls in the Chester area and there are hopes the number of girls playing hockey in the area could double next year.

Below is a complete list of all of the award winners who were recognized at Saturday’s event (please note that seven more scholarships will be handed out at upcoming high school graduations across the province).

Hockey Nova Scotia would like to congratulate all of our winners from the 2014-15 season. Congratulations and thank you for a great year of hockey.




B.F. Lorenzetti Academic/Athletic Award: Sarah Moss

RBC Academic/Athletic Award: Charles Young


HNS President’s Award
: Ken Boyce

HNS Ken Mantin Award (Contribution to Development): Randy Morgan

HNS Clary MacDonald Award (Coach of the Year): Troy Ryan (HNS Female CWG Team)

HNS Ron Conrad Award (Female Team of the Year): Chester Flurries (Pee Wee A)

HNS Fred Fox Award (Male Team of the Year): HNS Male CWG/U16 Team

HNS Hal Lewis Award (Lifetime Achievement in Officiating): Lloyd Smith

HNS Jed Ritcey (Volunteer of the Year): Scott Kennedy

HNS Officiating Distinction (Female): Morgan Greek

HNS Development Association of the Year: Antigonish MHA

HNS Development Coordinator of the Year: Adam Pellerine (Chebucto)

HNS Jacques Comeau Rep Coach of the Year: Alex Johnson (Northside and District MHA Peewee A)

HNS Rec Coach of the Year: Natalie Rudderham (CBCMHA) and Mike Spencer (West Colchester MHA)

HC/HNS Officiating (Most Promising): Madison Grace (New Waterford)

HC/HNS Officiating (Most Improved): Dylan Dauphinee

HC/HNS Officiating (Most Deserving): Colin Miller

HNSMC Lauchie MacIsaac (Association/League of the Year): Chebucto MHA

HNSMC Registrars Award: Deanna  Baker, Eastern Shore MHA

HNSMC Award of Merit: Max Fifield (Cape Breton MHA); Kevin Sears (Sackville MHA)           

HNSMC Outhie Moriarity: Brandon Purcell Cole Harbour MHA

Denny Deveau Award (Female Development): Brian MacPhee

HNSFC Award of Merit: Greg Burrows

HNS Award of Merit: Robert MacIsaac

Powered By GOALLINE Sports Administration Software