Hockey Nova Scotia
Hockey Nova Scotia on Facebook Hockey Nova Scotia on twitter Hockey Nova Scotia on YouTube

Welcome to the home of Hockey Nova Scotia!
May. 15, 2013

Hockey Nova Scotia has awarded 25 individuals and teams for outstanding participation, commitment and leadership.

The awards were handed out on Saturday night at the Hockey Nova Scotia Annaul Awards Banquet in Dartmouth. The event was part of the Hockey Nova Scotia Annual General Meeting weekend. To view photos from the banquet, click here.

Two scholarships, valued at $1,000 each, were awarded to Alexander Broderick and Nicholas Graham for athletic and academic achievement. Six more athletic/academic scholarships will be awarded to Hockey Nova Scotia members in June at graduation exercises across the province.

The Denny Deveau award was presented to Heather Murphy, of the Antigonish Minor Hockey Association, for the significant contribution she has made to female hockey. Luke Burke, a player with the Halifax Hawks, received the Outhie Moriarty Award which is presented to a house league player who is dedicated, responsible and reliable.

Hockey Nova Scotia recognized Devan Naugler as the volunteer of the year with the Jed Ritcey Award. Naugler was the founding member of the Western Nova Minor Hockey League and has coached and managed teams for the last six years. The Ron Conrod award for the female team of the year was presented to the Peewee AA Valley Wild. The winner of the Fred Fox award for the male team of the year was Bedford Midget AAA Minor. A complete list of award winners is attached.

Before the awards were presented banquet guests listened as former NHL player Sheldon Kennedy spoke about the Respect in Sport program he developed with business partner Wayne McNeil. The audience was moved by Kennedy’s accounts of abuse during his earlier years while playing hockey. Besides his NHL career, Kennedy is known for his brave decision to charge Major Junior Hockey league coach Graham James with sexual assault, which he was the victim of over a five-year period as a teenager.

List of award winners:

BF Lorenzetti & Associates Inc. International Insurance Brokers Athletic/Academic Award: Alexander Broderick

Hockey Nova Scotia Athletic/Academic Award: Nicholas Graham

Hockey Canada Most Promising Official Award: Drake Robinson

Hockey Canada Most Improved Official Award: Nick Conway

Hockey Nova Scotia Female Officiating Award of Distinction: Emilee Bendell

Hockey Nova Scotia Most Deserving Official Award: Stephen Starzomski

Hal Lewis Award - Official of the Year: Tim Connors

Denny Deveau Award: Heather Murphy

Hockey Nova Scotia Female Council Award of Merit: Jodi Tsitouras

Hockey Nova Scotia Minor Council Registrar’s Award: Robin Beaton

Hockey Nova Scotia Minor Council Outhie Moriarty Award: Luke Burke

Hockey Nova Scotia Minor Council Award of Merit: Shelley Syms, Jeff Lynds and Trisha MacInnes

Jed Ritcey Award- Hockey Nova Scotia Volunteer of the Year: Devan Naugler

Lauchie MacIsaac Award: South Shore Minor Hockey Association

Ron Conrod Award: Female Team of the Year: Peewee AA Valley Wild

Fred Fox Award: Make Team of the Year: Bedford Midget AAA Minor

Hockey Nova Scotia Minor Hockey Association Development Award of the Year: Halifax Minor Hockey Association

Hockey Nova Scotia Minor Hockey Asssociation Development Coordinator of the Year: Paul Keats

Hockey Nova Scotia House League Coach of the Year: Alex Mielnik

Hockey Nova Scotia Rep Coach of the Year: Jimmy Smith

Clary MacDonald Award Coach of the Year: Fabio Sani

Hockey Nova Scotia Minor Council Award of Merit: Mark Chisholm

Hockey Nova Scotia Award of Merit: Phil Herritt

Ken Mantin Award: Tom Lee

Hockey Nova Scotia President’s Award: John Sellers

Powered By GOALLINE Sports Administration Software