Hockey Nova Scotia
Hockey Nova Scotia on Facebook Hockey Nova Scotia on twitter Hockey Nova Scotia on YouTube

Welcome to the home of Hockey Nova Scotia!
HNS pleased with successful AGM weekend
May. 14, 2012

Hockey Nova Scotia (HNS) concluded the 2011-2012 season this past weekend May 11 and May 12 with their Annual General Meetings and Banquet.

HNS made some important announcements during the meetings and was honoured to present the prestigious HNS Award of Merit to former sports broadcaster and Chronicle Herald reporter, Pat Connolly at the banquet.

The AGM Banquet capped off a weekend of meeting with Hockey Nova Scotia representatives from across the province.  The banquet featured guest speaker, former NHL referee and Dartmouth native, Don Koharski.

During the meetings, HNS announced for the 2012-2013 season, all parents of Initiation (IP) and Novice programs registrants will be required to complete the Respect In Sport Parent Program.  Beginning the 2013-2014 season, all parents of new registrants (regardless of division/level) will be required to complete the course.  It is a one-time, online program designed to educate parents and prepare them for what lies ahead in their children’s hockey career.

HNS spent considerable time reviewing and planning for Female growth within the province and expects to see some very positive steps toward improving the product.

 HNS also reviewed the success of the introduction of 4 year old hockey in NS.  This addition allowed HNS to avoid the country-wide trend of decreasing enrollment.  Because of this new program as well as constant efforts of development and other programs, HNS was the only branch in the entire country that not only did not decline, but actually saw an increase.  This statistic puts Hockey Nova Scotia in a very positive light within the country.

The HNS AGM Banquet finished the weekend and all those who were awarded at the banquet are found below –

BF Lorenzetti Academic/Athletic Award – Zachary Anderson
Hockey Nova Scotia Academic/Athletic Award – Danielle Eustace
Tiny Titus Academic/Athletic Award – Jeffrey Krichew
Most Promising – Officiating – Dave Ivey
Most Improved – Officiating – Colin Delorey
Most Deserving – Officiating – Lloyd Smith
Female Officiating Distinction Award – Leslie Jordan
Hal Lewis Officiating Award – Gerard MacNeil
Denny Deveau Female Contribution Award – Trish Fader
HNS Female Council Award of Merit – James Edwards
Development Coordinator’s Award – Jamie Stone
HNS Development MHA of the Year Award – Acadia Minor Hockey Association
Ken Mantin Development Award – Bill Short
HNS Minor Council Registrar’s Award – Carla Carmichael
HNS Minor Council Outhie Moriarty House Player Award – Shawn Bates
HNS Minor Council Award of Merit – Paul MacEachern
HNS Minor Council Award of Merit – Joe Peck

Lauchie MacIsaac Award – Dartmouth Whalers Minor Hockey Association
Fred Fox Male Team of the Year Award – Halifax Accel Major Bantam Hawks
Ron Conrad Female Team of the Year Award – Metro Boston Pizza Female Midget AAA
Jed Ritcey Volunteer Award – Terry Moore
Coach of the Year Rep – Wayne Normore
Coach of the Year House – Nick MacMillan
Clary MacDonald Coach of the Year Award – Paul Gentile
Hockey Nova Scotia Award of Merit – Pat Connolly
Hockey Nova Scotia President’s Award – Alvin Anstey

For more information regarding the Awards Banquet or any of the above listed announcements, please contact the Hockey Nova Scotia office – 454-9400.  A link to all AGM presentations can be found below.

HNS AGM Presentation Links (please scroll down to find HNS AGM 2012)

Powered By GOALLINE Sports Administration Software